LIKE NOTHING EVER HAPPENED

This is the same area as yesterday’s photo. It was taken the morning after the big parade of the Coast Guard Festival. It looks like nothing ever happened here. All the craft booths are gone. The blankets and chairs have been removed. All the trash has been cleaned up.  No one would know that only the day before this place was alive with thousands of people purchasing treasures at the craft fair and watching the parade.

This got me thinking. When I’m gone will I leave anything behind or will it be as if nothing happened and I was never here?

Job cried out, “My kinsmen have gone away; my friends have forgotten me.”  (Job 19:14)

I don’t want that to be my cry. I want to make a difference. Mark chapter 14 relates the story of the woman who anointed Jesus by pouring very expensive perfume on His head. Some of the people present thought this was a waste of perfume. However, Jesus said to them, “I tell you the truth, wherever the gospel is preached throughout the world, what she has done will also be told, in memory of her.”  (Mark 14:9)

I don’t expect to be remembered worldwide, but I do want to be remembered by my family and friends. I want them to remember me as a person who loved Jesus Christ and lived accordingly. I want to leave the legacy of my children living for God and they, in turn, teaching their children.

How will you be remembered – or will it be as if you were never here?

Leave a Reply

