KEPT PROMISES

A few days ago I heard it raining very early before I got out of bed. When I did get up I was greeted by this beautiful rainbow.  The rainbow is a sign of one of God’s promises. The book of Genesis records the account of Noah and the flood. Once the rains stopped and dry land appeared God made a promise to Noah:

“I have set My rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between Me and the earth. Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will remember My covenant between Me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy ALL life.”  ( Genesis 9:13-15)

God didn’t say there would never be floods again. There will always be some floods happening. But there will never be another flood of the magnitude of the one during Noah’s time. God promised the whole earth will not be destroyed by a great flood ever again.

I like that God gives us signs to remember His promises. Signs, like the rainbow, renew our hope and reminds us there is a God who is in control and keeps His promises. When you are going through “floods” in your life remember the rainbows, the promises of God, and He will get you through.

Leave a Reply

