A PREPARED TABLE

I put sunflowers seeds out for the squirrels so they stay out of my bird feeder. The word has gotten around. Every morning I’ll have up to 10 squirrels feasting under my bird feeder. Even when I let my dog out some of them will continue eating. They seem to know Ginger’s  leash keeps her from going that far. A feast is prepared for us, too. Psalm 23:5 tells us, “You (the Lord) prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.”

Matthew Henry in his commentary explains the verse this way, “The Lord’s people feast at His table, upon the provisions of His love. Satan and wicked men are not able to destroy their comforts while they are anointed with the Holy Spirit, and drink of the cup of salvation which is ever full.”

The Lord shows His love to us abundantly. Even when we are surrounded by enemies His love abounds for us. He provides what we need, when we need it. Have you experienced God’s provision at His table? Come, the table is prepared.

Leave a Reply

